Configure and organize operations
Adaxes allows you to perform a wide variety of operations in the web interface – creating objects, adding them to groups, provisioning Exchange mailboxes, and so on. The operations available to each user depend on the permissions granted by security roles. For example, if a user has rights to reset passwords, they will see the Reset password operation in the web interface. Simple enough.
However, many operations are flexible and present additional options to the user executing them. For instance, when converting a mailbox, the user can choose the target mailbox type. When copying a user, they need to decide whether to copy group memberships or not. You might want to simplify some operations by restricting such choices.
In this tutorial, you will learn how to organize and configure operations allowed in the web interface, how to restrict their visibility, and how to completely disable them.
-
Open Adaxes web interface configurator.
How
-
On the computer where web interface configurator is installed, open Windows Start menu.
-
Click Adaxes Web Interface Configurator.
To configure the web interface, you need to have the appropriate permissions.
Permissions
The permissions to configure the web interface are delegated via security roles. By default, only service administrators have the appropriate permissions. To enable other users to configure the web interface, grant them the corresponding permissions.
To create a security role that grants the permissions to configure web interface:
-
In Adaxes administration console, right-click your Adaxes service, point to New and click Security Role.
-
Enter a name for the new security role and click Next.
-
On the Permissions step, click the down arrow embedded into the Add button and click Configure Web Interface.
-
Click Next and follow the steps in the wizard.
-
-
In the top left corner, select the web interface you want to customize.
-
In the left navigation menu, click Management, then scroll down to the Operations section.
Operations are organized into groups. Groups allow you to visually separate operations from one another in the web interface and determine the order in which they are displayed.
How to organize operations
-
Click the
button next to the Operations section title.
-
In the menu that opens, click Organize.
-
To add, edit, delete, and move operation groups, use the buttons located under the list of groups.
-
To move operations between groups or change their order within a group, use the buttons located under the list of operations.
The Create operation always appears as a plus button on top of the web interface side panel. Because it is fixed in place, it is technically not part of any group, and does not appear in the Organize dialog.
-
-
You can restrict operations to specific web interface pages. For example, you can disallow deleting objects from search results.
How to disable Delete on search results
-
Select the Delete operation.
-
On the Visibility tab, clear the checkbox in the Visible column for the Search component.
-
-
You can also disable operations on individual object views. For example, disallow renaming users and only users.
How to disable an operation on an object view
-
Select the operation you want to disable.
-
On the Visibility tab, clear the checkbox in the Visible column for the object type you need.
-
-
Finally, you can hide operations under the Other collapsible menu, which is displayed below all operation groups.
How to hide an operation under the Other menu
-
Select the operation you want to hide.
-
On the Visibility tab, select the checkbox in the Other column next to the view where you want to hide the operation.
Hiding an operation under Other has priority over the operation order established when organizing operations into groups.
-
-
To customize an operation, select it, and activate the Configuration tab.
The available customization options will be different for each operation. For example, you can specify a default password in the Reset password operation, or configure which properties can be edited in the Edit Exchange properties operation.
For more details about customizing specific operations, see:
Operation reason
Almost any operation can be configured to request additional information from the user who performs it. For example, a reason.
The provided information will be visible to the operation approver (if approval is required), and will be preserved in the operation log record. Out of the box, the reason prompt is disabled for every operation. You can selectively enable it for specific operations and customize how the prompt looks.
How to enable and customize the operation reason prompt
-
Select the operation for which a reason prompt should be enabled.
-
On the Configuration tab, select the Prompt for operation reason checkbox.
-
Customize the prompt in the dialog that opens.
You can customize the following sections:
-
Custom title
You can set a custom title. By default, the title of the step requesting for a reason matches the name of the operation.Screenshot
-
Description
You can provide extra details for the user performing the operation.Screenshot
-
Field label
The field label is mandatory. Set the label to something that helps the user understand what they should enter into the field. It is recommended to keep the label short, putting all supporting details into the description.Screenshot
-
Allow empty value
To make the reason required, clear this checkbox.Screenshot
-
-
When done, click OK.
Summary
When creating objects using Create or Copy operations, users can see a preview of the new object and all of its properties before confirming creation.
By default, a summary is displayed when creating all objects except organizational units. You can further restrict when to display a summary or disable this feature.
How to configure when a summary is displayed
-
Select the Create or Copy operation.
-
On the Configuration tab, click Configure next to Display a summary before creation.
-
Configure the settings and click OK when finished.
Success step
By default, when an operation succeeds or is sent for approval, the user sees a generic message reflecting what happened. You can customize this success step for each operation individually, replacing the generic message with any additional information the user might need.
How to customize the success step
-
Select the operation for which the success step should be customized.
-
On the Configuration tab, select the Customize success step checkbox.
-
In the dialog that opens, activate the Success or Approval tab, depending on which screen you want to customize.
-
Select the Display custom message checkbox and enter the message text in the edit box below.
You can make the message text depend on the operation target. To do this, you need to use value references in the message template. Value references will be replaced with the property values of the target object.
For example, if you are customizing the Reset password operation, %company% will be replaced with the Company property value of the user account whose password is being reset.
- Click OK when finished.
You can place operations on the Actions pane as actions. Actions can have separate configurations that override the default operation settings.
For more details, see Configure Actions pane.
-
-
To make an operation unavailable in the web interface, clear the checkbox next to it.
-
Save the changes.
Section settings can be applied to other web interface configurations. Click the down arrow button in the top right corner of the section and then click Apply to other web interfaces.
View screenshot